Posted in Life, Married Life, Relationships

Iron Sharpens Iron

My best friend 🙂

That man in the picture? Hubby. My best friend. My partner in crime. And someone I respect and admire the HECK out of.

He has a work ethic out of this WORLD. He works hard at EVERYTHING he does, no matter what it is. He is VERY competitive…and initially that is what attracted me to him. He brought the competitor out in me too.

I don’t know what happened, after a while, I kind of went back to the old me and stopped competing. It’s like that confidence that I had completely went away. And that’s not cool. At all.

I had a talk with hubby tonight about it. And he gave me a much-needed pep talk on confidence, not doubting myself, thinking outside the box, speaking up more and just being myself, no matter what.

I’m somewhat of a late bloomer, it always takes me a little bit to find my way. It most definitely did in high school, in college. Now that I’m in the real world and I have yet to really even start my career, it all falls on me. I have to compete. Hubby (and another good friend of mine) stressed the importance of it. All the greats, people I admire and look up to, compete. And it’s not by working harder, it’s by working smarter. It’s by using your strengths to be the BEST in your lane and what you do. If you wanna be the best, you gotta compete. You won’t be the best by simply saying that you are.

Iron truly sharpens iron. Hubby is my best friend and the pep talk we had tonight? Is precisely why.

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

Leave a Reply

