Posted in Life, Relationships

Only the Good Die Young

It’s been quite a ride lately. In October-December, I lost 2 cousins, a close family friend, and my sister-in-law, all quite suddenly, all quite tragically. I was hoping to put all that grief behind me. Then 2012 hit.

Not as close to home but still close. A high school classmate passed in January. Then another high school classmate was killed in February. Now? Yesterday, I find out that the guy who introduced me to my husband, passed on Sunday night and another high school classmate passed last Thursday.

The friend who introduced me to my husband kinda hit hard. Because our schedules never matched up, it’d been a few years since we’d all gotten to hang out.

The crazy part about all of these deaths? They’ve all been young people. Not elderly people who died in their sleep after a long life, long marriage, grandkids, etc. Most of these people who passed away left behind plenty of hopes and dreams, left unfinished, some left behind kids, some left behind careers only just getting started. That’s the difficult part to cope with.

So as I end this post, I’m left with memories of all the recent people I know who have lost their lives but entered a new stage in life, the afterlife. It’s not goodbye, but see you later.

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

Leave a Reply

