Posted in Life

When I grow up I want to be…

When I was four, I wanted to play in the WNBA. Never mind the fact that at the time, the WNBA didn’t even exist. I didn’t care. I just knew that the WNBA would exist by the time I grew up. Sure enough, years later, the WNBA played its inaugural season and I got to attend a few games.

However, as I got older, I quickly realized that I loved watching basketball, and enjoyed playing with my cousins, friends, father, but playing organized basketball was an entirely different story. I didn’t even make my middle school basketball team after tryouts and figured out that perhaps I might want to be something else when I grew up.

I then decided I wanted to be a broadcaster, because I loved to talk and write. I grew up watching Katie Couric, Peter Jennings, Brian Williams, Tom Brokaw, amongst other journalists. I then noticed they were often sent into harms way, no matter what, to get a story. So I thought ‘why not be a sportscaster? I’d get paid to talk about sports! What a great gig!’

That lasted til the first day of college, when our school of communications director asked who wanted to be in front of the camera. I quickly hid, shying away from the camera. I think in that moment, I knew being an on-air personality wasn’t for me. When I transferred a semester later, I changed my major. To political science. Then sports management, then sociology. I would change my major two more times before I would finally settle on Communication as a college major.

Ask me if I still decided what I want to be when I grow up.

Yes and no.

For now, I’m focusing my efforts on writing more, and on finding positions that will allow me to do so. I knew I was in trouble (in a good way) when I got in trouble at work. For writing.

I can’t help it.

So if I can find a job that will allow me to write and get paid for it? Sweet!

Still not sure if I want to write when I grow up. But I do know that for now, it’s fun, and I want to do it until I no longer enjoy it.

Not to mention, I don’t wanna grow up. I want to be a toys r us kid. Forever.

So that solves the problem of having to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.

Sounds like a plan to me!

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

Leave a Reply

