Posted in Life

Looking For Myself in My Fears

Fear! Do Not Enter!

My own advice to a fellow blogger jumped back at me.

I decided I have to follow my own words of wisdom, no matter what.

What are you afraid to do? Usually, what you are afraid to do, ends up being the very thing that liberates you. And through liberation you find yourself.

I’ve done a lot lately that scares me.

I’ve taken random trips to unfamiliar cities. I’ve booked a vacation even though I’m uncertain about getting the time off from work. I’m designing a website for a friend. I’ve submitted articles to online magazines and websites. I’ve become more active in my blogging. I’m officially beginning my journey as an entrepreneur.

All of these things I’ve been scared to do. But I knew I couldn’t stay where I was, stuck and miserable.

I’ve basically been held captive in my own house lately, because of fear.

Fear of running into people that I know from my past.

Fear of failure.

Fear of having to make new friends.

Fear of not having enough money.

Fear of not being good enough.

But at what point do you say ‘enough is enough’? Are you really living if you’re constantly afraid?

Life is full of changes, ups and downs. Will you let life dictate to you what happens? Or will you decide to get up, get out there, and make some moves, in fear?

Some of the best decisions I’ve ever made in life, have been made with a healthy amount of fear.

Fear, lets us know that something is bigger than us. Acknowledging this is huge. Nothing worth doing in life, comes without fear.

If you find yourself stuck, if you’ve lost your way, ask yourself, ‘what am I afraid of?’

I’ve found lately, that as I’ve been looking for myself, I’ve found myself in my fears. I’ve had to push myself out of my comfortable rut, and get uncomfortable. It’s definitely a process. There are times where I have moments of paralysis, where it feels like I am unable to move. Instead of shrinking, or backing off, I allow myself to feel that fear, and then let it fuel me.

Are you afraid to quit your job and chase your dreams of being a business owner? Are you afraid to move to an unfamiliar place, because it’s, well, unfamiliar? Are you afraid to show your face in public because of of past failures, mistakes, and choices?

Let that fear propel you forward.

The last time I faced my fears? It led me to one of the greatest adventures I’ve ever had in my life. Looking for myself in my fears could most possibly be the best thing I’ve done in my  ongoing quarter-life crisis. If you’ve lost yourself? Find your fears. Pinpoint them. Allow yourself to feel that fear, then move past it. 

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

3 thoughts on “Looking For Myself in My Fears

  1. Yeah, I think it’s part of the human experience to avoid our fears and uncomfortable situations because it’s easier to stick to what’s safe. But it’s reassuring to hear that you are willing to put yourself in those fearful situations because you know once you get through it, you’ll come out stronger and better. I can relate and I found being overseas has allowed me to overcome fears I once had and I feel more comfortable in situations that I used to feel awkward in. Having to make a way for myself in a different culture has forced me to move past fears ’cause if I don’t act, nothing will get done and I can’t wait for happiness to appear; I have to be active in bringing happiness into my life. Well, keep writing and growing! Peace!

Leave a Reply

