Posted in Married Life

Uno and Salsa-Sparks Fly-our Story part 1

note: As I approach my second wedding anniversary, and prepare to transition to talking about newlywed life a bit more on my blog, I’m telling me and my husband’s story thusfar, just to get you all caught up. Here’s part two & three of the story. 

Me & him, Christmas party, 2006

He was just playing Uno.

I was just coming through to see what my friend B was talking about. I didn’t know that sitting down to play a uno game was about to change my life completely.

‘Come hang with me and my friends in the student center, we play games and hang out after classes’, B said one day after Film Appreciation class. I was solely focused on trying to finish out the semester so I’d be one semester closer to getting my associates degree. I went to class, went home, went to work, and that was it.

So I agreed to come see what he was talking about.

I walked in and there he was, playing Uno. He was the loudest. He was cute. And he was the center of it all.

‘Uno?’ I wrinkled my nose up at the game. I hadn’t played since like middle school. I didn’t know people still played it. I sat down to play, after B introduced me to everyone. B introduced me to him. He was cute, but I thought nothing of it.

I sat down to play Uno, noticed how cutthroat he was. With Uno, nonetheless. I was surprised, but figured hey, why should he have all the fun? So I decided to play ruthlessly too.

No sparks would fly that day. But I would keep coming back to play Uno. I enjoyed getting to know and handing out with B and the crew.

Almost 2 months later, a salsa/merengue workshop was held on campus. I was excited to go and maybe even dance with someone. I had dated a Latino guy back in HS and one of my closest HS friends was a Puerto Rican, she taught me how to Salsa dance.

He was there. And he asked me if I wanted to dance. Sure, why not?

It was amazing. He was the only brotha in the room who had rhythm and we danced well together. We enjoyed ourselves until others came and snatched him away to dance. I danced with others, but it just wasn’t the same. After awhile, I went to watch from the sidelines, hoping I’d get to dance with him again, but when it became clear that I wouldn’t, I decided to go home.

A few weeks later after some flirting, more Uno games, we found out we lived on the same side of town. He & I both took the bus the same way, downtown, to connect to other buses, so one day he decided to wait on me. I’d been thinking  lately about how I could use a big brother figure in my life. My two godbrothers didn’t live close (one lived 3 hours away, another lived four hours away), and I definitely wanted a ‘brother’ who lived closer. I saw how he treated the other girls and he was a complete gentleman. Yeah, he was a little bit of a flirt (or so I thought) but he was always there for them, giving them solid and sound advice. I was looking for that too.

The day he decided to wait on me to leave campus and leave with me, was the day I’d find out he wasn’t at all interested in being my ‘big brother.’

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

Leave a Reply

