Posted in Life, Married Life, Relationships

Mission Impossible: The First Date-our story, part 2

note: As I approach my second wedding anniversary, and prepare to transition to talking about newlywed life a bit more on my blog, I’m telling me and my husband’s story thusfar, just to get you all caught up. If you missed part one of the story, you can read it here

Summer Love!

We ended up on a bus together headed downtown from campus. We quickly discovered we had alot in common. We’d both lost our grandmothers, we both were big sports fanatics, amongst other things.

We found ourselves going to the music store downtown, talking about movies. He mentioned that he wanted to see Mission Impossible 3, I mentioned that I wanted to see it too, and that we could meet up to see it. Sure, he said, why not? He and I exchanged numbers and made arrangements to see it that weekend.

The next day we started texting, learning more about each other. The more I learned about him, the more I liked. He already knew I didn’t have a boyfriend, and I discovered he didn’t have a girlfriend, but I wasn’t really trying to pursue anything. I was already talking to a few other guys but had no intentions of being in a relationship. He told me that he liked me, but I didn’t really think he was serious. (this would become a trend in our relationship later on, but I’m getting ahead of myself)

Friday finally came, me and him were vibing pretty good. He came to campus early, even though he had NO finals to take, just a meeting at 1pm, just to hang out with me before the movie. I thought that was a sweet gesture. After his meeting, we went to see Mission Impossible 3. All those corny things that couples do? We were doing them. Finishing each other’s sentences. Holding hands during the movies. My palms were definitely sweaty, I was enjoying myself & having fun but I was still nervous. I’m not sure why, since mentally in my head, I had already placed him in the friend zone. He asked me to be his girlfriend midway through the movie and I asked him if we could take it slow, he agreed. After the movie, we talked and I laid it all on the table. I told him all the serious things that I would usually say to chase the silly guys off, about my commitment to God, and a few other things that I considered deal breakers. He didn’t bat an eye or back off. I was pleasantly surprised. We talked another hour, discovering we had alot more in common than we thought, before heading our separate ways and he told me that was the best first date he’d ever had.

The next day, we talked all day. And I do mean alllll day. That Sunday, we agreed to  be a couple and later that week? I’m realizing that I wrote in a journal the following:

I kid you not…if someone told me this was it, that he was THE ONE…I would believe them. I HONESTLY, at 20 years young, can’t even IMAGINE dating anyone else…and this is all after ONE week…but it’s just a gut feeling. 

To be continued…

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

One thought on “Mission Impossible: The First Date-our story, part 2

Leave a Reply

