Posted in Life, Married Life, Relationships

Meet Me At the Altar-our story, part 3

note: As I approach my second wedding anniversary, and prepare to transition to talking about newlywed life a bit more on my blog, I’m telling me and my husband’s story thusfar, just to get you all caught up. Here’s part one & two of the story. 

That first summer together was amazing, there’s nothing like young, new love. We spent 5 out of 7 days of the week together, even with me working and going to summer school, and him working as well. We enjoyed getting to know each other. We definitely had similar goals and aspirations, one of them being to get the heck out of Ohio once we were done with college. We went to museums, we went on picnics, stumbled upon festivals, hung out at his house, we were everywhere together. He and I would exchange romantic emails and letters back and forth. He would buy me my favorite flower, Yellow Roses. It was simply amazing. We hung out with our friends that we considered our family. He introduced me to his mother, which was a big deal, because he’d never really brought home a girl to his mom. I’d introduced previous guys to my parents, but this was the first one I could be proud of. I would later be grateful for the summer we had, because it set a foundation for our relationship that would come in handy later.

That fall we’d encounter our first bumps in the road. We had our first argument, and he almost broke up with me. We ended up working things out, and um, he asked me to marry him. I thought he was joking, didn’t think he was serious, and told him no.

He would ask again that following May 2007 when we both walked the stage at our alma mater, the community college. The Sunday after we graduated, we were hanging out at his house, when he got on one knee and asked me to marry him. This time I accepted his proposal. We told our parents and they gave their blessing, with the understanding that we’d wait til we finished school.

Our dating relationship was FULL of ups and downs. He was there for me when my grandmother passed on my 21st birthday. We were there for each other when a good friend of ours ended up behind bars for a bit. We were also there for each other when other things were going on in our personal lives weren’t going so great. We supported each other as we chased dreams. We had a few breakups late 2008-early 2009, we were both selfish and not really understanding where the other one was coming from. We were able to reunite and end up stronger than ever, though.

Late 2009 we began seriously discussing setting a date, and decided that we’d get married that next year.

Fast Forward to Spring 2010. I was finishing up at the local university, K was getting more established and even though we encountered more bumps, we decided to get married that fall.

I was stressed and feeling the pressure of planning a wedding alone, while I was finishing up my last full time [brutal] semester of college, with very little money. Also having some slight social anxiety, I hated the idea of a big wedding, and quickly got frustrated with it all, and decided I would rather just get married at the courthouse downtown.

Newlyweds! July 2010

We married July 23, 2010, with my parents, his best friend, my best friend, and 2 of my sisters at our side at the courthouse.

I want to say we skipped off into the sunset and lived happily ever after. But not so fast…I will say that, you’ve read our dating/engagement story. And if you’ve heard about me talk about my husband, you know I love him more now than I ever have, as our love grows stronger and stronger each day. Things haven’t always been easy for us, especially not once we got married. I’ll definitely shift into our marriage story thusfar in the days to come…

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

One thought on “Meet Me At the Altar-our story, part 3

Leave a Reply

