Posted in Life, Married Life, Relationships

A Place to Call Home

While folks my age are romping around the world, traveling to foreign countries, moving around to different cities, I’m longing for a place to call home.

Maybe it’s because I’m married, ready to start a family, switch careers, and open a new chapter in my life, feel a bit more settled.

I’ve felt antsy the last year in particular. Some of it could be attributed to my desire to find a career I like, if not love. Some of it could be attributed to wanting a family and not being willing to raise a family in my hometown. Either way? I’m not really trying to move around a lot, trying out new places, to see which one ‘fits.’ I’m ready to have a ‘home’ to come to every day after work. I’m ready to live in a city I’ll eagerly show off to my family. I’m ready for something long-lasting.

Marriage and a college degree were the first phase of my plan to settle down.

Now comes switching/finally launching a career, K finishing school, launching his career, and starting a family somewhere in there.

I’m spoiled and fortunate, I realize that. I lived in the same house from age 1 until 24, when I married my husband. Only attended three schools growing up, finished out all three. I attended college here in Cleveland as well, and K & I, we’ve lived in our current apartment for about 21 months of those 24 months we’ve been married thus far.

All I know is stability. And as an adult, having to work towards finding a place to call home isn’t easy, but I know we will find it!

I’m a planner, I can’t help but set goals and work towards reaching them. I think it’s the first-born/type A in me. I admit to staying up night after night, pouring over relocation data. I’ve fallen in love with two cities in particularly, throw a third in the mix and you’d be telling me to go to bed, not to fret over it, because we end up exactly where we’re meant to be. 

In the meantime? I’ll continue to excitedly stay up til 2am, researching the prospective cities on my list, planning visits, seeing if they’re a good fit for K & I.

 I long for a house, where we can put our own finishing touches on it. I am eager to bring kids into this happy family unit K & I have.

I’m realizing that in time, it’s something we will have. I’m trying to remind myself that anything worth having is worth fighting for. There’s no perfect city, but there will be a perfect place for us to call home, and I can’t wait to finally get there.

We’re almost there, we’re almost home. And I can’t wait.

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

Leave a Reply

