Posted in Faith, Life, Relationships

What is YOUR Calling/Purpose?

You have a call on your life“, they told me growing up.

Noooooooooo, I thought in my head, and often said it. I wanted no parts of ministry.

As the daughter of a pastor, I cringed whenever I heard those words. Because I thought that ‘having a call on your life’ meant stepping in a traditional church pulpit.

Now that I’m older, I know that everyone has a calling on their lives. Everyone has a purpose. And it doesn’t mean that you will ever step foot in a church pulpit.

If I had a dollar for every time someone pointed out that me and K had callings on our lives, we’d have a nice lil rainy day fund! ha!

Seriously though. I recognized from our first date that our ‘callings’ worked well together.

Many say that K is a ‘preacher’. Up until recently? I wanted no parts of that. Just like people say that I ‘preach’. It’s all about knowing your platform and who you’re called to reach.

Me and K are able to reach people who may never step foot in a church, or find themselves ‘on hiatus’ like we are. Social media is our platform, definitely. But also, we know that people cross our paths for a reason. We’re aware. And we don’t take it lightly.

I write. I write from the depths of my soul. I speak on twitter. I speak on Facebook. I speak through my blog. I pray that whatever words I speak/type/write, will reach who they’re supposed to reach.

I know that my calling, my purpose, is to encourage, empower, inspire, and inform. I don’t need a church pulpit to do that.

The world is my pulpit.

What is your calling? What is your purpose? What is it that you do that nobody else can do?

What is your platform that you’ve been given? Are you even aware of that platform? And if so, do you use it wisely?

I leave you with one of my favorite poems that really put things in perspective for me, this is what I seek to do with my words

So I guess I’m one of a kind in a full house
Cuz whenever I open my heart, my soul, or my mouth
A touch of God reigns out:

 

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

Leave a Reply

