Posted in Uncategorized

True Life: I have PCOS

God must have known, that I would need to write about this season in my life, and reawakened the love for writing just in time to get the news I got today.

“So have I ever talked to you about your PCOS?” My doctor said as she came in the room. She closed the door behind her and sat down in the chair next to me.

My suspicions had been confirmed. And it was a huge relief. Like a weight had been lifted off my shoulders.

I listened as she explained (in plain english, I might add!) where my PCOS came from (diabetic history in my dad’s family), how we can treat it (depending on whether or not K & I want to conceive or wait), what I need to do in the meantime (exercise, lose weight).

PCOS is Polycystic Ovary Syndrome. Some women have little tiny ‘cysts’ (which are really immature follicles on their ovaries), some don’t. Most have insulin resistance (which I think I have), which means our body has a hard time processing sugar correctly and we tend to gain weight quicker, especially in our torso. It involves a hormonal imbalance, that messes with your menstrual cycle, which usually results in either lengthy periods, no period, or irregular periods.

There’s no cure for PCOS, but the symptoms can be managed through a healthy diet, exercise. Some doctors prescribe medication to regulate ovulation and correct a hormonal imbalance. Depends on if you want to conceive or not.

After a year of dealing with all my health issues, I’m just glad to finally have some answers. I walked out of the doctor’s office feeling like a weight had been lifted. A phone conversation with my husband had me feeling like I married the best man ever (then again, I did!). I wasn’t feeling sad or defeated or frustrated.

PCOS means I don’t always ovulate which means the chances of me conceiving drop a little. But I know that my dreams of being a mother being deferred don’t mean it’s denied. When it’s time to have kids, I’ll need to make sure that I’m healthy, that my PCOS symptoms are under control, and I’ll have to watch my health even more closely.

I wanted to share this news, in hopes of continuing to share my journey with having PCOS. Since the diabetes in my family comes from my father’s family, my mother doesn’t know what it’s like to deal with this. Until I came out and told people today, I had no clue that other women I know were dealing with this too.

I hope that I can share my journey, of managing PCOS and getting to a healthier me. It will be a challenge. I have to reduce my sugar intake drastically. I also have to watch my carbs and eat more foods with protein and fiber. But I know that it can be done. I hope that writing can be therapeutic, and also help other young women with PCOS know that they’re not alone and that it can be managed.

I’m ready to tackle this challenge and learn to live with PCOS. No panic over here. I can do this. And when I have my kids, I will look at them, healthy and happy, knowing that everything I do from here on out/everything I did, is not only for them, but myself too.

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

2 thoughts on “True Life: I have PCOS

Leave a Reply

