Posted in Education, higher education, Life

Don’t Ever Give Up…EVER

Walking across the stage to receive my baccalaureate degree was one of the greatest days of my life (next to getting married). Even though I knew I had to return that fall to take two final classes, I had finally accomplished one of my goals-graduating from college. 

After college, I went to work for a federal agency (which subagency, I will not disclose). It certainly wasn’t what I thought I’d be doing, but the plan was to look for work while working that job part time. 

Nothing goes as planned. I ended up having health issues, and looked on and off for jobs. My main focus was my current job, my health. 

I wasn’t quite sure what I wanted to do, I had gotten distracted by things that weren’t my core values. Such as money. 

I even signed up (and was accepted) to school for electrical engineering. I knew, that it wasn’t my passion, and that it wasn’t worth going into debt for. I was chasing after stability, but for all the wrong motivating reasons. 

I knocked on doors that wouldn’t open and I wondered why. I called my parents wondering why it seemed like I had been left behind. Why I was still in Cleveland. Why I had a degree that I seemed I couldn’t use. Why I wanted to go back to school but couldn’t figure out what I wanted to do. 

I realized part of me wanting to go back to school was missing the college culture. Being on campus was my home away from home, I loved hanging out on campus until the streetlights came on. I loved the bustling of students everywhere. Loved the faculty and student interaction. Loved being involved outside of the classroom. Loved helping out my peers, I was a walking college guidebook most days. 

This is when I realized I wanted to work on a college campus. I began to look for jobs, with nothing popping up in this area that was a good match for me. This led to more frustration, more stress, more tears. More feeling like I had wasted my time in school. 

I began to practice gratitude. And put a plan into place to be mindful, to make things happen, and enjoy the ride along the way. 

Then it happened. 

I got an email. Which led to an interview & missed anniversary trip. Which led to a new job perfectly tailored for me. 

I remain in constant awe and gratitude for opportunities that come my way. I don’t take anything for granted. 

I’m saying all of this to say…don’t ever give up on a dream, even if it seems far fetched. EVER. 

Don’t seek comfort in things that aren’t in alignment to who you are at your core. 

Don’t burn bridges trying to get somewhere that may not even be meant for you to be. 

If a door is meant to open, no man can shut it. If doors aren’t opening, perhaps you need to try again-at a later date. If doors aren’t opening, perhaps it’s because you’re so busy knocking on this particular door that you don’t notice that another door right next to it is wide open-just for you. 

Nothing is ever wasted. Nothing is guaranteed. Nothing lasts for ever. 

Hold fast to your dreams. You know which ones are dreams, and which ones are just things you want because they’re shiny and look good. You’ll have to get dirty to go after your dreams. No need to play dirty, but just be prepared for things to not always go as planned. 

If things always go as planned…maybe you might want to reconsider your dreams. 

The amazing thing about chasing your dreams isn’t always about the destination, but the journey on the way to them. If it’s not fun or an adventure on the way, what’s the point? 

Don’t ever give up. EVER. 

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

3 thoughts on “Don’t Ever Give Up…EVER

  1. SO proud of you! It’s interesting that you started to practice a little gratitude and then everything fell into place for you. I think it’s so easy to get caught up in life and trying to keep up with others (I posted some similar thoughts about this on my blog) that sometimes you do stray away from what you love, and you can miss opportunities by doing that. Thanks for this post; I needed it!

    1. yes indeed! I could relate to the post that you wrote on that! All my friends are big time engineers who boast about how much money they make, etc, how their jobs are so secure, or I know others who are buying houses, have their pick of jobs, jet set everywhere…but truth be told, everything looks pretty on the internet. Nobody really tells what’s REALLY going on. It’s too exhausting to keep up with others…once I focused on what I had, I was able to reflect on what I REALLY, TRULY wanted. And I’m sure you can relate to that as well! Happiness comes from within, not outward. thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

