Posted in Education, higher education, Life

No More Wondering

Someone pinch me, I feel like I’m in a dream. Wait, no, if I am…don’t wake me up.

And I wonder if you know, What it means, what it means, And I wonder if you know, What it means, to find your dreams-‘I Wonder’ Kanye West

Well I no longer have to wonder.

People often say when it comes to true love ‘when you know, you just know’. I can say that for finding your purpose, your path, your true calling as well.

From the time I stepped on campus to begin my new position yesterday, I knew that it was meant to be. I knew it was destiny. And today’s interactions with coworkers from various departments, reinforced just that.

Y’all. People I LOOKED UP TO, ADMIRED, in high school, in college? They’re now my COWORKERS. My CONTEMPORARIES. Well somewhat, I’m an Americorps worker. But I still work with them. And that in itself, is amazing.

An interaction with one lady in particular, the director of counseling…she reminds me of a few people I love dearly, like my aunts. And I’m going to enjoy working closely with her.

You have no idea how it feels. To be in a position that is tailored to your passions, interests, background, and experience. To see the need, and be able to say ‘I’m here to meet your need, and gladly.’

I know it won’t be easy. But nothing worth having is, right? I’ve got my work cut out for me, as this is a position that has never existed before. Alot to know and learn in a short amount of time. But I’m up for the challenge.

I’m excited to help these freshmen get on the right track. I remember coming to my alma mater, determined to graduate, and doing whatever it took. Remedial courses, yep, I took em. Pell grants? Yep I got em. Home problems while in college? Yep I had em. Academic struggles? Yep I had those too. And I overcame it all.

And now I get to help others do the same.

This is something so special to me. Education has always been my passion, my interest. And my alma mater, no matter where I go, is home. So to come back ‘home’ and be able to serve in a way that hasn’t been done before?

I’m off to blaze trails. I’ve never loved any job like this before. ever. Nor have I ever been this excited to go to work every day. I fall in love deeper and deeper with my job, like never before.

It’s a dream that I didn’t even know I wanted this bad. Now that I have it?

It’s a dream come true.

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!