Posted in Life, Married Life, Religion, Sports

Reality/Mindless TV: Escaping Reality

Marriage changes you, more than you think it will. Not that you become a completely different person (although some do), but you may take up some surprising habits.

Mine was no longer watching the news, opting for reality/mindless television shows instead.

Yes you read that correctly.

Growing up, it was standard practice to sit at the dinner table with my parents and sisters and discuss politics, current affairs. My mom bought the local daily newspaper, in which, I would read it from front to back every day. I often watched local and national news on a nightly basis. Strangers and family alike would comment on how well versed/well spoken my sisters and I were. We can attribute that to the aforementioned rituals growing up, along with others not mentioned.

Then I got married. And stopped watching the news.

I’ve known K for 6 years, we’ve been married for 2. So imagine my response, when I asked my husband if he watched the news, the first time we reached this topic of discussion.

‘Nope, I don’t watch it, because it changes every day, and its too depressing.’

I didn’t know whether to be appalled or to ask if my usually jokester husband was serious. And he was.

It wasn’t enough to be a deal breaker, however.

I traded the news for ESPN. Oh, and mindless/reality tv.

I don’t care what y’all say, some reality television, or frivolous television, is good for you. Everyday life is serious enough. I found that once i did get married and moved in with K, I didn’t miss watching the news. Now, I do follow a few local news stations on twitter if I really want to know what is going on. Other than that? Most social media and headlines on yahoo and google main pages tell me all the news i need to know.

I still do read the newspaper, I just don’t buy it daily like my mother did.

Reality shows are great. First of all, it’s drama that doesn’t belong to me or any of my friends. Some mindless tv shows end up being quite hilarious. Which is a welcome escape from the often mundane routines of every day life.

I love K, our marriage isn’t boring. We have tons of fun together. And just this week, I told him, that I appreciate him, because coming home to him is my sanctuary. I don’t have to come home and talk politics or religion with him. I know his stances on things. When everyone else is talking about Obama’s latest policies? My husband is home watching Sportscenter or reruns of 90s sitcoms til he falls asleep. And then I turn to my [often ratchet] reality shows, like Real Housewives of Atlanta.

I get a much-needed laugh, a good storyline, and an escape from reality, ironically. I know these shows are scripted. All the more reason why they’re hilarious.

I still consider myself well-read, informed, and up-to-date on current events/affairs. I also can tell you about Kim & NeNe’s beef on RHOA too.

I needed that balance to my life badly.

Cheers to reality & mindless tv. I can’t think critically 24-7. Sometimes, my brain needs a break.

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

2 thoughts on “Reality/Mindless TV: Escaping Reality

Leave a Reply

