Posted in Life

Who Do You Want to Be?

 

‘This is your life, are you who you want to be? 

This is your life, is it everything you dreamed that it would be, 

When the world was younger and you had everything to lose’-This is Your Life, Switchfoot

What if life wasn’t fully about WHAT we did, but rather WHO we become?

I started to think about that today, as I think about my life right now.

Now that I have my dream entry-level job, I’ve decided that what I do doesn’t define me, but my character does.

Funny how your reputation can precede you, good or bad. You might wanna be careful how you treat people, this world is all intertwined in a way beyond our comprehension.

I was reminded of this on my second day of work, when I ran into three different people, each from different eras of my life-high school, early college days, final college days. It’s a really good feeling when everyone you come in contact with, everyone you know, can pretty much vouch for your character.

People that barely know me, pick up on the type of person that I am from the initial seconds of a conversation with me. And it’s nothing new, they sense my kindness, my warmth, my sincere desire to help others placed in my path. My strong sense of purpose, being grounded and down to earth, go-getter. You’d be hard pressed to find someone who disagrees with all of that when asked words to describe me.

My parents instilled some values into me, such as hard work, but the other combination of traits are uniquely me, developed on my own, through intentional action, as well as coming into my own as an individual.

When I grow up (*smile*) I want to be who I am now, but stronger. I still want to be Dei. I want to be my own version of my mother when I have kids-the kind of woman that everyone loved, not because she tried to please everyone else, but because she was that likeable. I want to be a better wife, a better sister, daughter, mother (when I have kids).

When you think of your life, don’t just think about what you want to be; think about who you want to become. And start working towards that. Today.

This is your life…are you who you want to be? If you aren’t…it’s not to late to become it. As Kanye says in one of his hit songs ‘I Wonder’

You can still be who you wish you is, it aint happened yet and that’s what intuition is.’

 

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

Leave a Reply

