Posted in Cleveland, Life, Married Life, Sports

#30in30-Back to Me

So for the first time in 3 years, I have weekends off from work and I have no idea what to do with myself!

Growing up, my mom always warned me ‘when you get married, don’t lose yourself. Make sure you do things you like’

I know what she meant. Her life, after getting married, quickly became a flurry of activity, none of it really being anything she loved/liked to do.

Her art went on the backburner, as church, kids, marriage, keeping house, and taking care of her mother became priority. Not that any of that wasn’t important, but it was clear that there wasn’t much time for her. 

I’ve been married 2 years now, and me and hubby haven’t had the same days off until now. And I’m very happy about it, but I am also happy about finally getting a chance to get back to me.

I get to discover what i like and don’t like in my adult, post-college life/world. Immediately after i graduated, I started a job that required I work on weekends…and I didn’t really get a chance to discover any hobbies that didn’t conflict with my work schedule.

Now that I’m off on weekends?

I finally get to get back to me.

I’m gonna try new things. Definitely trying to be active, since exercise, for me, is a struggle.

This weekend?

Think I’m gonna go play Ultimate Frisbee…I LOVED playing in  high school, but it’s been TEN years since I played. This should be interesting.

Next week I may try something else. This is the beauty of discovering who grown up Deidre is, FINALLY. I’m excited!

Cheers to the freakin weekend y’all!

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

Leave a Reply

