Posted in Cleveland, Education, higher education, Life, Married Life, Relationships

#30in30-The More Things Change…

…the more things stay the same. It is what I told my friend tonight…and it’s truth.

You may change and evolve over your journey in your lifetime but who you are, at your core, will not change. And as a result, the people who’ve known you for years? Know you pretty well, depending on the closeness of the relationship.

There are things about me that I know will never change.

I love a good city skyline. I appreciate the beauty of it, lit up at night. Acting as a beacon, a representation of the city and its’ people. No matter where I am, it never fails to amaze me. It’s the only time I like Cleveland, is at night, seeing the beautiful city skyline lit up. I like the New York and Chicago skylines the most, there’s nothing like them. Pittsburgh’s city skyline is beautiful as well. Haven’t seen too many others in person at night but I love the city lights.

I love the water. LOVE it. I love the beach. Might have something to do with me being a water sign (Pisces)…there’s something so tranquil about the water and just being able to see the waves crash the shore. I get an overwhelming sense of peace whenever I’m on the shore anywhere. Whether it be Coney Island looking out into the Atlantic Ocean or Atlantic City on the Boardwalk or even Virginia Beach…I love the water. Even when I need to clear my head, when I have a big decision to make? I walk down the street to the lakefront (two blocks away). As the waves move in, they wash all my worries away. I’m able to breathe easier. It’s why I can’t see myself living in a city that isn’t by some type of body of water.

I’ve always been an advocate of education, always been fascinated by it. I was the kid who would make up my own homework during the summers while other kids were playing outside. I was the one breaking down the zoning in my school district because I couldn’t understand why I was being shipped to the Eastside when there  was a gifted program 20 min away on the same side of town as me. I was reading college view-books at 12, because I was that determined to go. By the time I went, I knew the admissions process quite well. Even now, education is just a field I can’t stay away from. It’s why I’m pursuing a career in it first. I may move on to something else eventually but it will always be something I love.

I’ve always wanted to relocate to another city, for various reasons, since childhood. And will continue to desire that until I actually relocate. This won’t go away. As much as I’ve wished for it to go away, it won’t.

I’ve always been a fan of sports. Lover of music. Lover of words, rarely am I found without a pen and paper. And I’ve always been long winded, I can’t do short for whatever reason. (working on that).

I hope K realizes all of this. That no matter how much I change, some of these things are core passions, that will always be part of me. I think he knows this. Clearly, he’s dealt with me six years (and I must say, he loves me quite effortlessly, even when I do irk him lol). Gotta love married life 🙂

There are just some things that will always be part of me. Just as I suspect, there will always be things that will always be part of you. You just learn what they are, embrace them, love them, and deal with them. The people in your life who love you will love these things too. Sometimes they’ll hate them, but they’ll realize, it’s all part of the package that you come with. they’ll either accept it or they won’t. *shrugs*

The more things change…the more things stay the same…

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

Leave a Reply

