Posted in Life, Married Life, Relationships

#30in30 The Introvert Struggle in Careers & Spicing up Your Relationship/Marriage

I just remembered I needed to write today. Whoops…

Just rambling so bear with me…

The Introvert Struggle is real. Love my new job, except for the having very little time to myself part. 7 hours of almost non-stop human interaction with several people is a tad overwhelming. I can handle one on one things. But more than a few, non-stop all day? I need time to come down from that. I will be glad when the school year starts…if ANYTHING, already, it’s showing me that I probably am better suited for academic advising/counseling…roles in which I can interact with people one on one and still make a difference doing what I love, as opposed to a program coordinator or even a recruiter, who has to speak to large groups, interact with large numbers of people on a daily basis. I need my own office in my career, so I can close the door and recharge. I’m realizing that is necessary, especially since, I will be sitting at a desk (the front desk at that), in an office, that anybody can walk into. Pray for me. Please. I’ll need those prayers, all year, for real!

One thing I’ve learned (and still learning) about marriage is that, even being married to your favorite person, your best friend, can be boring sometimes, so you have to be intentional about spicing things up (and not just in the bedroom). Laugh together. Laugh at yourself. Be silly. Example, I randomly put on Carly Rae Jepsen’s Call Me, Maybe last night, around 10pm, and started singing emphatically along with it. Hubby just kinda looked at me. And this happens. Often. Sometimes, he laughs at me, with me. Other times he just remarks on how crazy I am. But it makes things interesting. Other times, he’ll mess with me, just to make me laugh. We know how to have fun, even in the mundane moments. Trust me, you need that. Because there will be other times you will wonder ‘what did I get myself into?’ lol.

And that’ll be a wrap for me.

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

One thought on “#30in30 The Introvert Struggle in Careers & Spicing up Your Relationship/Marriage

  1. I’m an introvert too and that struggle sure is real. Sometimes I feel like society expects folks to be extroverted, like being introverted is an inferior characteristic. It’s not! We’re just different. 🙂
    Love the new blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

