Posted in Life

#30in30 A Letter to my Younger Self

If I could give my younger self advice, this is what I would write

Dear Dei,

This is your 26 year old self, writing to you. You’re 18 right now, feeling rather lost, but I’m writing from the other side to tell you that you will find your way.

That boy you’re dating? He’s cute. Yeah, he’s your first love…but you won’t marry him. And I think you know it won’t happen. Yea he’s good looking, but there’s no future there.

You made the right decision to go off to Hampton. And you made the right decision to leave. Tri-C will end up being amazing. I know that sounds crazy, but you’ll make memories you’ll never forget.

You’ll fall in love with New York City. And you’ll fall in love with a man from NYC. Not in that order though.

You’ll change your major a million times. But you’ll have fun doing it, that’s all that matters.

Think more often before you speak. You end up saying some things you can’t take back. And that’s not cool.

I totally get that you look out for yourself, out of self-preservation, but be sensitive to others as well. Don’t be completely selfish.

Honestly? I can’t give much else advice. You did good kid. You made it to 24 without any kids [out of wedlock]. You finished college with minimal debt. You ended up in a job you hated but you jumped at a chance to do something you loved and haven’t looked back since. You married a great man…yes, you made some other mistakes along the way and still make mistakes today, but you’re a work in progress. I wouldn’t tell you to do anything different than you’ll do. Your family will be proud of you. Most of all, you’ll be proud of you.

Love ya kid, just remember, you got your whole life ahead of you. Never forget that, when it seems like the world is pressuring you like time is running out, when decisions feel like ultimatums. Nothing is that urgent. Trust yourself more. Cut others around you some slack. Let your hair down more often. Worry less. Live more.

good ole 21 -)

 

 

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

One thought on “#30in30 A Letter to my Younger Self

Leave a Reply

