Posted in Life

#30in30 A Letter To My Fears

Dear Fears,

I’m writing you because I need to get some things off my chest. We’ve had a complicated relationship for so long, and it’s a very dysfunctional one.

See, sometimes, in spite of you, I do awesome things and I have you to thank for motivation. If there is ever a time to claim that I have a ‘hater’, you would be it. You desire to see me held hostage where I am, frozen by my thoughts and feelings that aren’t even real.

You would stand in my way, whenever I wanted to do anything worthwhile. Sometimes I knew how to get around you. Other times? You were very sneaky, very powerful at keeping me from taking action.

But lately I had a breakthrough. Lately I figured out how to conquer you. Two words: Love and Gratitude.

When the two of those are combined and come together for my good? They make it hard to stick with you. They give me the necessary motivation I need to move past you, leaving you in my dust as I chase my dreams.

You are good for giving me negative energy. You’re good for planting questions in my head, causing me to doubt myself.

But love appears. And reminds me that I am greater than my fears. That greatness lies within. And gratitude shows up, reminding me to be thankful for everything I have and will have. Gratitude keeps my mind focused on it, keeps me busy so that I don’t have time to focus on you.

I’m writing this letter because, my relationship with you, has to be healthier. You’re not all bad. In fact, sometimes, you’re great at warning me of danger and harm. You also bring up some really good points, ones I don’t always consider at first.

Let’s become partners and work together towards reaching my destiny, instead of working against each other. You are not the enemy.

Fear, together, combined with love and gratitude? When healthy, you give me the necessary fuel to be a forced to be reckoned with. When the three of you know your roles and play them well? I do things greater than me. I have so much to accomplish, I’m just warming up.

So how about it fear. How about we become partners in sensibility and give balance to excitement and dreams?

We’ll work it out. My people will call your people and we’ll walk it out…together.

We’ll talk again soon! Til next time,

Me

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

Leave a Reply

