Posted in Life, Married Life, Relationships

#30in30 Relationships Edition: The ‘One’ Doesn’t Exist

Note: This is my PERSONAL opinion. No further explanation or notes. That is all. Thanks for reading! 

I was quite young when I first heard someone mention ‘The One’ as a notion of there being one ‘ideal’ person for all of us.

I think that doesn’t exist. at all. Or at least, not in the way we think it does.

Are there days I think my husband was made for me? Sure. There are things about him that I’m convinced only I can deal with and not go insane! (joking) And vice versa.

But ideally, do I truly believe he’s ‘the one?’

Well, now I do.

He became ‘The One’ when I married him.

I let go of the notion of ‘The One’ quite some time ago, I don’t believe in soul mates. I believe in choice.

Love is not just an adjective or a feeling, it’s an action. It’s a choice.

K being ‘The One’ essentially means ‘I choose you. every day.’

It means he’s ‘The One’ I wanna come home to every day and choose to. He’s ‘The One’ I want to start a family with. He’s ‘the one’ I share my life with, in every way.

But theoretically, are there others out there I could have married? More than likely, yes. There were probably others that were compatible for me. And for whatever reason, they never crossed my path.

I say this, as a married woman, to give some hope (and a dosage of reality) to the single woman, or the woman in a relationship who worries about her man being ‘The One’.

Enjoy the ride. CHOOSE to love that person. CHOOSE to make things work (if you all are compatible, which is an entirely different subject in itself). I do believe, people come into our lives for reasons, seasons, and a lifetime. It is up to us to know how to discern the difference between the three. I’ve seen others marry folks that should have only been in their lives for a season, or a reason, and try to make a lifetime last with them. It usually doesn’t work.

love my husband, beyond words. I’d be lying if I said there weren’t days he got on my nerves or I ended up frustrated. But the day I said ‘yes, I’ll marry you’ and the day I said ‘I do’, he became ‘THE ONE’.

You’ll know it when you see them. Until then?

Please don’t stress about ‘The One’. ‘The One’ doesn’t exist.

 

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

Leave a Reply

