Posted in Life, Married Life, Relationships

#30in30 Word to Your Lover: A Word of Advice

I don’t write a whole lot about relationships and marriage when it comes to advice, because, well, for starters, some still consider me a newlywed. K and I have been married for a little over two years, and while it hasn’t been all peaches and cream, we’re happy together. We love each other now more than we ever have in our six years together. Another reason why I don’t like to give much advice is because every couple is unique. Every couple faces a set of issues and situations unique to them, even if they are similar to other couples. However, there are a few things that are universal.

One word of advice I would give any couple would be to respect each other.

Respect is super important. I’m not sure how loving someone you don’t respect works.

Respect should be visible and detected in every interaction you have with your lover.

When you talk to each other, do you listen? Do you take to heart what they say? Do you get an attitude or just talk over them? (I’m guilty of these, by the way, so please don’t think I’m perfect lol).

Do you respect their time? Do you show up to a date or engagement with them late?

Do you respect their body? Do you respect their mind? Their soul?

Just a few questions you might wanna ask when it comes to respect.

If you don’t respect your lover, then perhaps you may want to reconsider a relationship with them.

The moment I lose all respect for a man? Is the day that I need to consider walking away. It sours every single interaction we have, it ruins everything, honestly.

Speaking of honesty, respect your lover enough to be honest with them. Even if it hurts their feelings. Sometimes we’re afraid to hurt our lover’s feelings, but I’d rather hear the truth and be hurt than hear a lie and be good. The truth will always come, later on, and I’d rather hear it from someone I love than someone I can’t stand who just wants to hurt me.

Be respectful with good intentions. Bad intentions are just disrespectful. Never do things out of bad intentions, karma is real.

Respect.

As Aretha said, ‘All I’m asking, is for a little respect!’

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

Leave a Reply

