Posted in Education, Faith, higher education, Life, Married Life, Relationships, Religion

#30in30: Never The Right Time

There’s good, there’s better, there’s best, when there comes to timing.

Is there a such thing as bad timing? The realistic, logical side of me wants to say yes.

But then the other side of me knows that there is a force higher and more powerful than I, in which time must submit to.

I’m 26, not getting any younger…whether I like it or not, as a woman, age plays a big role in career development, education, family decisions.

Even with modern science, with technology, and a host of other advancements in society, I still have to consider age when thinking about when to start a family with K.

I still have to consider age when thinking about my career development & evolution.

I still have to consider age when considering when to go back for a masters. Amongst other things, but age is a big factor.

I hate that it must be like this, but it’s reality.

Time waits for nothing, nobody, no man…nothing. And all I can do is respect it and go with the flow. 

There are so many things that are out of my control. I can plan all I want, but God/the universe has different plans for me, ones that I’m unaware of. Sometimes, my subconscious is aware of them, as I’m pretty intuitive. Then my logical side kicks in and tries to override my intuition, my subconscious trying to give me a heads up about things. I begin to plan, and sometimes all I can do is laugh when those plans don’t come to fruition in the timing (if at all) that I would like.

Truth be told, I can plan to have kids at 30 but if God wants them to come beforehand? They will. No amount of planning, science, protection or any of that can stop it.

I can plan to do a masters degree next year, but God might have different plans for me. He might have work for me to do elsewhere. And I have to be open to it.

It’s never the right time to start a family. Never the right time to go to grad school. Are there better times? Of course. But we are not in control. God lets us think that we are, but we’re not. At all.

All I can do is, prepare for the surprises, expect the unexpected. And enjoy the ride, since I’m obviously not in the driver’s seat. I’ll trust that whatever comes my way, is already purposed, waiting for me, to make that expected choice so that I can learn whatever life lessons those experiences have for me.

My father in law told me today ‘Life lessons are all around you.’

No truer words have been spoken to me. I can’t help but agree.

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

Leave a Reply

