Posted in Uncategorized

#30in30 Bits and Pieces

Just bits and pieces of thoughts running through my head…

As a woman, I’m not here for men telling me what a woman really is and isn’t. I don’t tell a man how to be one…my womanhood is not defined by how I dress, my marital status, whether or not I have kids. And I’m sick of this being a topic of discussion. And unfortunately it doesn’t look like it will cease anytime soon.

My job continues to amaze me. It blows my mind that people I considered mentors and looked up to in high school and college are now my colleagues. It makes going to work every day fun! It’s amazing seeing my vision board come to life.

Some of the terms on my vision board include:

Going Back to School

Your Own Office

Building the Future of Education

Get Your Ideas off the Ground

 

Guess who has their own office? Me!

Guess who went back to school…well, I went back to the school I graduated from to work!

I get to get my own ideas off the ground…I get to take this position and make it my own!

And my work is building the future of higher education here in Ohio…

I’m just…amazed. And officially a believer.

And I still pinch myself, because, I can’t believe this is really real. I’m blessed.

 

Dreams really do come true y’all. And when you achieve a dream? It’s not the end of anything. It’s the beginning of the next dream. Keep dreaming and keep pushing. Keep believing, keep grinding. Never give up hope, stay hungry, stay focused.

The future belongs to those who dream. Or something like that. lol

 

 

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

Leave a Reply

