Posted in higher education, Life

#30in30 A Helping Hand

So as you all know, I started a new job on August 1st, at my Alma Mater. I am a College Completion Coach working with first year remedial and pell-eligible students, connecting them to the campus and local community with the necessary resources needed to finish their degree or certificate programs.

My job is a BLAST, it really doesn’t feel like work. This week was Welcome Week and we held different activities each day to welcome new and returning students to campus.

As part of my job, I’m recruiting 100 students to be coached by me for this academic year. I have a list of 100+ students, and it’s my job to sell them on participating in this program.

It can be a bit overwhelming, as an introvert. I am excellent at building rapport and relationships, but when it comes to initially meeting people? I’m a bit awkward. Recruiting is also not my expertise, not my favorite thing to do, but I want to learn and get better.

That being said, I reached out to my colleagues and asked for tips. And let me tell you, it was much better than sitting in my office wondering how in the heck I was going to recruit. They gave me some helpful tips, that left me feeling so much better.

When you go to work, you have coworkers for a reason. They hold knowledge that may be useful to you.

It’s that way in life in general. No man is an island. We are given family and friends for a reason, for companionship, and for life lessons.

We all have something to offer, something to teach. Make sure you extend a helping hand and return the favor to others when you can. We could all use a helping hand in life.

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

Leave a Reply

