Posted in Faith, Life, Married Life, Relationships

The Power of Submission

so a few months ago, earlier this year, I wrote a piece on ‘surrendering.’ And I wanted to not only revisit this topic, but expand on it, by talking about submission.

A few days ago on twitter, I mentioned how there was power in submission. Not everyone agreed with that sentiment, and I can understand that, because not long ago, I felt the same way.

Submission, in many ways, has been explained as giving up something, kind of a giving up of power.

I wish I could properly explain the beauty and the power of giving up that power.

As I near closer to 30, I feel like I understand submission better.

To me, submission involves trust, and knowing who and what you’re submitting yourself to. I cannot blindly submit, give up ‘control’ to something or someone I don’t know. And I put control in quotation marks, because it’s a false sense of reality, to even think that you’re in control in the first place. There are things you’re in control of, you do have the free will to make certain choices and decisions. But control? Hmmm. that’s debatable.

I’ve been a ‘control freak’ for much of my life, since I was a kid. I suspect part of it has to do with me being an oldest kid, I’m not quite sure. But at any rate, it led to me stressing over things I had no control over. It led to me not knowing where the true source of my power laid.

Two years into my marriage? I’m realizing it’s counter-productive to try and control things. To try and control my husband, the marriage and how things happen, my life, OUR life together. We spend more time fighting over the same vision, yet different ways of carrying out that vision.

Submitting to him, means that, I trust him, wholeheartedly, to not just lead us, but to know how the two of us should work together to make our common vision come to life. Instead of me trying to control things and him trying to control things, we balance it out, through mutual submission.

Also just applies to life in general. Only this year did I realize that I’m not in control of my life, at least not fully. There are day to day things, that I have control over. I also possess God-given wisdom that allows me to make decisions based on information available. Anything outside of that? Not under my control. Realizing that, has allowed me to realize the power in submission.

The power comes from being able to focus on the day to day things, and not worry about what may or may not happen. It allows God to do His thing and take care of me. It’s teaching me how to get out of God’s way, as my husband says.

The longer I held on to wanting to be in control, the more stressed I was. The more I learned to let go and release those things I could not control? The more I was able to enjoy life, and practice gratitude. The more I was able to let things unfold the way they’re supposed to.

I think this doesn’t even fully explain, the way I’d like it to, the power in submission. But there’s nothing more powerful, than surrendering your power, to something much bigger, much greater than you.

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

Leave a Reply

