Posted in Life, Motherhood

Make You Proud

So first things first, exciting news! If you’re not connected with me on twitter or facebook (follow me on twitter!!!), then you didn’t hear the news, about me being pregnant! Yes, K and I are expecting, our little one will be here around the end of June!

As I prepare for motherhood, I look back at the year(s) that I’ve had…and I can honestly say, I’m proud of myself.

I’ve always tried to make decisions I wouldn’t regret later on, ones that I would be proud of. Of course I’m human and have failed at that goal, it happens. But I can honestly say, 89% of the decisions I’ve made? I’m quite happy with them and wouldn’t change the outcome either.

I did what made me happy. I made difficult decisions that I don’t regret. I am still learning how to handle people with care, I want to say, I’m failing at that currently with a few people in particular and I’m working on it. But I’ve grown SO much in the past two years.

As you shift into your twenties and beyond, your focus [somewhat] goes from wanting to make your parents proud to wanting to make you proud of you. Of course, I still want my parents to be proud of the daughter they raised…but ultimately? If I’m not proud of me…it doesn’t really matter.

I want to really emphasize this to my kids while raising them, the idea of personal responsibility, and starting young. I want them to own their decisions, to not only do what makes them happy, but doing the right thing, in all areas of life.

I’m still young (turning 27 in March), and it’s a good feeling to know that even through mistakes, I’m growing from them. I’ll write soon on a few things I’ve learned this year, but just wanted to say…focus less on making others proud of you and more on making you proud of you!

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

One thought on “Make You Proud

  1. Aw! Cute blog and congrats on the baby! I believe that you’re going to be a great mother and I can’t wait to read about all the adventures you’re going through with the new blessing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

