Posted in Uncategorized

It Takes a Village

so in a matter of weeks, I will be stepping into motherhood officially. we are not far at all from our son making his entrance into this world…and of course naturally, I’m feeling a variety of emotions about labor and being a mother in general.

Scared is not one of them. I know I’ll make mistakes, I know I’ll do a lot of earning by trial and error. But I’m not scared, because, I’m not alone. I have my husband, I have my family and his…we have a village. And no matter what others say or believe…I am proof that it does indeed, take a village.

Perhaps I need to use that same logic when it comes to my career and every other area of life. It really does take a village.

I’m more excited, anxious than anything. I’m expecting those sleepless nights, probably because I don’t get much sleep now in these final weeks. I’m expecting to initially not know why he’s crying. I expect that we’ll be learning each other-him learning K & I, us learning him. But I’m also expecting to watch him sleep with a smile on my face (and then promptly fall asleep when he does lol). I’m expecting to fall in love with him to the point of being consumed by it. I’m expecting to proudly show him off and simultaneously be selfish with him, not wanting to be overwhelmed with people who will want to meet him in those initial weeks. I’m excited. Anxious. Not scared. Not worried.

At this point I’m thinking more about my career path. about where I want to be, and how to get there. and when. But I’m realizing, that will all take care of itself. I just need to take opportunities when presented to me, and just take things one step at a time. 

 

 

 

 

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!