Posted in Uncategorized

Coming from where I’m from…

Madam CJ Walker
Madam CJ Walker, first Black millionaire businesswoman

“I stand on the shoulders of my ancestors as a strong educated brilliant beautiful black woman…my life’s work is to not just make them proud, but to leave a legacy so that those following behind me know that with God ALL things are possible”

-Dei

As I get closer to closing out my twenties (March 15 is not far away at all), I think about all that I’ve accomplished.

At times I get discouraged, because, I’m seemingly nowhere near figuring this thing called life out, especially in terms of being stable in my career.

But then I look at ALLLLL that I’ve accomplished. And…I’m proud of myself. Because I’ve come a LONG way.

I’m earning degree #3 in August 2016, Masters in Higher Education. First degree that my son will get to see me earn. And just thinking of that, is humbling.

Not bad for the granddaughter of Mississippi sharecroppers. Or a first generation college graduate.

It’s interesting to look back and see where I’m coming from and where I’m going. I come from a family of blue collar, some college educated, and many, many entrepreneurs who decided they’d rather work for themselves than others. I didn’t really realize the pride I had in my family until I was an adult and really learned who they were.

I’ve grown to appreciate the history behind things, behind people, behind Black Culture specifically in the last 11 years since I’ve graduated high school. I look at black women now, and the history we come from…and I’m aware that the opportunities I have access to now, are because of the many MANY sacrifices that black women before me have made. I love learning my history. I believe everything happens for a reason, that we are interested in what we are interested in, for a reason. Now I belong to a church, rich in black history (dating all the way back to the 1800s) and I love going to church every Sunday to learn more about it.

I am SO proud to be part of such a rich heritage, and I intend to add on to it. I’m determined to make the rest of my life about continuing to learn about black history, and determined to BE black history in my own way, Lord willing. I have so much I want to accomplish and I can’t wait to do it!

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!