Posted in Uncategorized

Running from Protection

Running is all I’ve known for so long.

Growing up here in my hometown, it was pretty isolating quite often. I had friends, but I always felt different from everyone else. The only ones who could relate were my sisters. And even the three of us are unique in our personalities, giftings and callings.

I was socially awkward as a child. I was pretty sensitive, picking up on things quite often. I wrote songs, and was unusually spiritual for a child. In addition, my parents were pretty overprotective of my siblings and I and we were often ridiculed for not being able to do much outside of church activities and services. I can’t explain it, but I felt like an outcast and an outsider. So, I vowed that as soon I could, I would leave my hometown and never look back.

Why did I want to run?

Well, who wants to remain in a place where they were ridiculed, stuck out like a sore thumb? Where nothing but painful memories surround them? Where just running into former classmates conjure up memories of the past? I mean, who wants to be continuously reminded of their awkwardness?

But then something happened this year. A life changing thing. My son was born.

And suddenly, nothing else mattered. The day he was born? I was reborn. My life began to take on new meaning, and things began to make sense.

It’s been evident for quite some time to me, and even to some of my friends/acquaintances/strangers that God’s hand has been on my life for as long as I can remember. Things that others went through, I was protected from. But, silly me, I wanted to go through the other mess people went through
. I felt like I was missing out. But now I know better.

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!