Posted in Uncategorized

Step out of the boat…

I have to be honest, I have been great at encouraging and empowering others, but then thinking the same advice didn’t apply to me.

I have told people to leave unhealthy and unhappy situations especially ones that directly impacted their health. I have told people to follow their intuition. But was I following that same advice?

This summer I had to.

I had decided to take the next steps into furthering my career by enrolling in a graduate program nearby. I chose it for convenience.

But I learned that convenience doesn’t always mean it’s best for you.

Ok so back to the story.

Over the course of summer, I noticed an increasingly nagging feeling of uneasiness with the decision I had made. . Academically, I was doing great. But, I kept thinking of transferring. And I kept dismissing the idea.

All while I was telling my baby sister to consider all her options, I was shutting down all of mine, because I was a mother, because I was a wife and had a family to consider. So I would sacrifice my happiness to do the responsible thing. I kept telling myself these things, in hopes that the nagging feeling would go away and I would eventually be okay and at peace with my decision.

That nagging feeling never went away. In fact, it only grew more as the summer term began to wind down. I knew I had to do something; question was, would I have the guts to pull the trigger and do something about it?

I sought wise counsel and they told me, to trust my instincts and to do what makes me happy.

Amazing how a lightbulb goes off when you have to listen to your own advice being repeated to you!

So I sprang into action, knowing I would have to move quickly. I had to narrow down a list of online schools, to the ones still taking students for the fall semester. I also had to use other criteria, and I was able to find just one school that fit my needs and my wants. I was accepted, began my first semester at the new school, and I must say, I am so glad and thankful I did something about that nagging feeling.

Was it scary? Yes. Was it a huge risk? Yes. And I won’t know how much of a risk it was until I finish my masters. But I hope it is one that will pay off.

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!