Posted in Life

To Thine Ownself be True…

I’ve loved and I’ve lost.

Except I don’t feel like I’ve lost. It just didn’t pan out.

I did it all just right. Got married. Finished my degree. Had my son. In that order.

And then it all kinda imploded.

Not at all without warning signs. there were plenty of them.

This isn’t a post to bash anybody, or to tell our business.

This is a post to tell you, dear reader, to thine ownself be true.

Life is messy. It’s rarely a straight, linear line. Life is often a path that is winding and crooked, with lots of detours along the way.

There will be tears. There will be hurt.

but there will also be beautiful surprises. Flowers just because. Dream jobs. Beautiful relationships. Joy. Pure unadulterated JOY.

Life can be scary. Life can be fun.

I’m not quite sure where I was even going with this. But I will say…

My business, uncommon by design? Based off of me.

I have always known how different I was. And yet I wasted years trying to prove that I belong. That I fit in.

But I’ve also known that I was never meant to blend in. I was born to stand out. I was born to be uncommon. That was by design.

I can be incredibly private, sometimes out of shame sometimes out of comfort but I share my writing, I share my truth, because, I want others to know that they’re not the only ones. They’re not the only ones dealing with the fall out of a divorce. They’re not the only ones who once felt unworthy of happiness. they’re not the only one trying to figure life out.
I write, I share to say ‘me too.’

We are all uncommon for a reason. Live your truth. Then share it. Don’t ever hide it. Don’t ever not be who you are. You never know who you can liberate or help by simply being true to you.

To thine ownself be true.

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

One thought on “To Thine Ownself be True…

Leave a Reply

