Posted in Love, Poetry

You Had Me at Hello (Day 6 Poetry Challenge)

I tried to not fall in love with you

but my feeble attempts failed

You had me at hello

I tried to tell myself that as long as it was within my power, within my domain

I wouldn’t fall for you

It was too soon

But as soon as I saw you for the first time

It was a wrap

You eyes locked with mine

I couldn’t not sit close to you

And as time has gone by

Our love story has become my favorite

Our characters are ones that I’ve loved the most

Our love sweet as sugar, honey, iced tea

As I write this love letter and instead of sending it to you in an envelope

Instead it’ll be placed in a bottle and tossed into the ocean

Maybe someone will find this and be inspired

To take a risk for love

To go for it

To believe that love at first sight does exist

 

 

 

Author:

A thirty something city kid from the midwest (born, raised and educated in Ohio!) Urban/Higher Education professional, I love supporting schools and organizations in their efforts to educate urban youth and young adults. I'm also passionate about helping young adults find their purpose and live it out! I'm constantly growing and evolving. I'm a mom to a brilliant active little boy, a proud member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, and I'm ready to change the world, one life at a time!

Leave a Reply

